Bull Riding in Ohio

A student mentioned that he went to watch some bull riding about two weeks ago – this sparked my curiosity. They bull ride in Ohio? I wanna see!

I did a bit of googling and found the information I was seeking. Hat Creek Arena (www.hatcreekarena.com) hosts bull riding competition every Saturday at 7:30pm from November thru April. I mapquested the directions and off to Van Wert, OH I wandered. I do need to mention that MapQuest’s directions were an epic fail – however thanks to some intuition and the very nice gas station gentlemen I found the arena.

Apparently Hat Creek is the place to be on a Saturday night! It was standing room only in the little indoor arena (formerly a roller skating rink) – I managed to find a spot close to the action, and some very nice folks. From a photography standpoint, I didn’t get much. My experience with low-lighting situations leaves something to be desired but the gallery highlights my experience somewhat. 

Having been to one or two rodeos while living in Wyoming, I have to say that Hat Creek does a great job – maybe there is something to that Brantley Gilbert song “country must be country wide” – from the national anthem, taking a knee in prayer before the riding began, and veterans always get in free – the West and the Cowboy ways are alive and kickin at Hat Creek Arena. (And so are the bulls!)

Leave a Reply

