Sending Postcards from the Inn

20161120_074835

Beach Chair View of St. Petersburg

Several years ago, while job hunting I came across the Postcard Inn. I applied for a job but at the time they were unfortunately (or fortunately) fully staffed. Since then, this property has been very high on my list of properties to spend a night (or several) at. Needless to say when the opportunity arose to stay at the property, I was all over it. To that end I would like to thank the gang from Crossfit Hunters Creek, Crossfit Taino, and The Pit Athletics for deciding to compete in Battle at the Beach! Now then, on with my review.

Upon walking in the front doors to check-in, the vibe was relaxed and casual but with a wonderful Gulf Coast flair. There was an immediate feeling of relaxation (complimentary postcards are available at the front desk…they will even mail them for you, postage included!!). The front office staff was perfect the entire weekend – always smiling and happy to help with questions (regardless of how silly they might be…not that I would ask such questions!)

20161120_074219

All about the balance

Throughout the hotel you can find a variety of wonderful touches that are reminiscent of a beach vacation back before there was internet or cell phones. From a variety of games available (pool table and ping pong in the courtyard, connect four, scrabble, and giant jenga in the lobby), a fire pit that is lit at night, rocking chairs, and lounge chairs galore to movie night in the lobby on Fridays…there is plenty to do when you feel the need to take a break from the sun.

The room was very well decorated. Bright, happy colors. Old photos on the wall, taken during various eras. A sitting area with a surf board on the wall. Plenty of room to lounge…but really who needs to spend time in the room when the fun is outdoors?!

img_20161118_161513

Beautiful room

The weather the entire weekend was beautiful and therefore I spent most of the weekend outdoors! In addition to the fun indoor games, the hotel has a beautiful pool, bicycles for use, and … did I mention it is right on the beach? Sure is! With beach chairs and beach couches for hotel guests to use. The PCI Beach Bar was were I spent a good chunk of my time, when I wasn’t on the beach. The bar staff was great (they even found the Dolphins game on tv for me!), the drinks were well priced (I suggest enjoying happy hour!) and the food was rather good (I suggest the fried shrimp or the Island chicken wrap!).

In addition to the bar, the Boathouse Kitchen & Bar is the full service restaurant on premise. I decided to treat myself on my last night for dinner in the restaurant…I enjoyed a wonderful lobster bisque, followed by a lobster ravioli (the seared scallops were out sadly) and paired with a Carnivore Cabernet. I decided to stave off my food coma with a sit by the fire pit, it was rather relaxing!

While there is more that I could go on about, all in all the experience exceeded my expectations. It was exactly what I needed after an intense 3 month of coursework. I would also like to congratulate my crossfit peeps for hitting the podium in 3rd place (respectively for male and female teams)….I can’t think of a better way to spend celebrating being ABD than to be able to grab clicks of my crossfit homies, enjoy some great beach weather, beautiful sunsets and finally get to stay at the Postcard Inn.

img_20161118_193949

Sunsets on the Gulf Coast

Leave a Reply

