2016 – A Reflection in Clicks

Slightly late in post…please pardon the lack of appropriate timing. 

It has been a challenging year for me on many levels. I decided that instead of dwelling on all the ups and downs associated with the past year, I would revisit the year in photographs. I chose two sets of photos to look through: 1) photos taken with my camera and 2) photos taken with my phone.

As I went through each album, I was reminded of the adventure that the set of photos represented – each of these shots is a reflection of a memory of an event, a person, an entire experience…all captured in moment. From each album, or set, of photos I chose one photo that I liked the most (for whatever reason – maybe the memory of the particular moment the photo was taken, in some the photo subject represents an inspiration, maybe just from a technical perspective, the reasons are varied). I did realize that trying to sum up an entire trip, or adventure, in a single photo is not easy! I’m sure I may have missed some things, but the following slideshow is a pretty accurate representation of 2016’s major events summed up.

I hope you enjoy the trip through 2016 as much as I did!

Sometimes it takes looking back, to realize how much fun you had and how many adventures you experienced in the course of a year. Life is a learning experience – and the attitude you go into the experience with dictates what you learn and how you grow. I am finally beginning to understand that my reaction and my attitude towards what life throws at me is completely in my control – I am the captain of my own ship. While the seas may not always be smooth to sail upon, it doesn’t mean that I can’t approach the storms with a smile (granted sometimes forced), a positive attitude, and a willingness to learn from whatever the storm brings. A wise person said to me recently, “adversity brings growth.” 2016 has been a growing year! While I know it wasn’t all smiles, I bear the year no ill will.

As another section of my story comes to an end, I’m looking forward to 2017 and the adventures that it brings! HAPPY NEW YEAR!

2016 Mantra: “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”

 

Leave a Reply

